Applications for Young Investigator Award to be presented
at IBEC meeting 2015

Aplications are open for the IBEC Young Investigator Award to be presented at the 2015 International Conference on the Biochemistry of Exercise to be held in Sao Paulo Brazil September 7-9.

Deadline for receipt of applications is January 31, 2015,
emailed to Marc Francaux at

Rules for nominations for the Young Investigator Award are presented next.

The application has two parts:
1) a original research paper in the field of biochemistry of exercise published or accepted for publication at the date of application. The paper must be published not earlier than 24 months before the deadline of the Young Investigator Award application
2) if the paper has more than one author it must be verified by signed declarations by the co-authors that the applicant had the major influence on the study and the resulting article.

The evaluation of applicants is based on the scientific quality of the paper.

The jury members are the members of the International Research Group except if the members who have a conflict of interest.

The jury decides which paper is the best.

Winners of the "Young Investigation Award"

1985 Bente Kiens

University of Copenhagen, Denmark

1988 Michael Kjær
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

1991 Jens Bangsbo
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

1994 Ylva Hellsten
Karolinska Institute, Sweden

1997 Labros Sidossis
University of Texas (Galveston), USA

2000 Jens Larsen
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

2003 Morten Donsmark
University of Copenhagen, Denmark

2006 Matthew Watt
RMIT University, Australia

2009 David Wright
University of Alberta, Canada

2012 Adeel Safdar
McMaster University, Canada

2015 Kistin Standford
Harvard University, USA

Winners of the "Honour Award"

1994 John O. Holloszy
Washington University School of Medicine,
St Louis, USA

1997 Jacques R. Poortmans,
Université Libre de Bruxelles,
Brussels, Belgium

2000 Eric Hultman
University of Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden

2003 Henrik Galbo
University of Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Denmark

2006 Frank Booth
University of Texas School of Medicine
Columbia, USA

2009 Bengt Saltin
University of Copenhagen,
Copenhagen, Denmark

2012 Erik Richter
University of Copenhagen
Copenhagen, Denmark

2015 Mark Tarnopolsky
McMaster University
Hamilton, Canada